I found a ‘Jeremiah’!

In an earlier blog post, I asked the question “Where are the Jeremiahs?”  Where are the men of God who stand in the pulpit and pastor churches who actually speak against the heresy that is so pervasive in modern evangelicalism.

I am happy to report that this morning, my pastor Noel Dear, preached a sermon on Matt 7:13-14 ESV

13 “Enter by the narrow gate. For the gate is wide and the way is easy that leads to destruction, and those who enter by it are many.

14 For the gate is narrow and the way is hard that leads to life, and those who find it are few.

In the sermon he mentioned universalism and specifically mentioned Rob Bell’s book Love Wins as an example of heresy even if dressed in Christian clothing.

To those who may be disheartened at the lack of clear, authoritative preaching in the church today – please take heart – there are still preachers who speak the truth with boldness.  I’m thankful for my pastor who is doing just that.

3 comments on “I found a ‘Jeremiah’!

  1. Exactly! I spent some time thinking about our dicussion on your original Rob Bell blog post. I think this nails it. I’ve realized I have a problem with people thinking they’re Elijah rather than Jeremiah. I see a lot of “woe is me, nobody is speaking out against this but just me…” while I see lots of speaking out against things. Let’s not forget that we’re not alone,

    By the way, this comment was composed with my iPad. I like it.

Leave a Reply

